Hoiberg is a +3. How does that measure up?


Forty-six Division 1A men’s basketball programs had a coaching change after the 2010 season. Iowa State was one of them.

Twelve of the coaches hired that season have since led their teams to the NCAA Men’s Basketball Championship at least once.

Only five of them (Fred Hoiberg, Iowa State; Dana Altman, Oregon; Tad Boyle, Colorado; Tim Cluess, Iona; and Greg McDermott, Creighton) have taken more than one team to the NCAA Tournament.

Hoiberg, Boyle and McDermott have done it 3 times while Cluess and Altman did it twice each. The coaches hired that year who have done it once include Brad Brownell (Clemson), B.J. Hill (Northern Colorado), Jason Hooten (Sam Houston), Steve Lavin (St. John’s), Fran McCaffery (Iowa), Bob Marlin (La.-Lafayette) and Leon Rice (Boise State).

But, that doesn’t tell the whole story. The situations inherited by the new coaches were all different. Some coaches took over winning programs and others were in rebuilding mode.

In the four years prior to Hoiberg’s hire, the Cyclones did not make the NCAA Tournament. The same goes for Boyle with the Buffaloes. Hoiberg and Boyle have three more NCAA appearances than their predecessors did over the same time period.

Beyond Hoiberg and Boyle – both former Big 12 players – the other coaches with more NCAA berths than their predecessors (over that 4-year timeframe) are: McDermott (+2), Cluess (+2), Hill (+1), Lavin (+1), McCaffery (+1) and Marlin (+1).


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s