Sifting through the class of ’11 and Hoiberg is at the top


Forty-six schools in Division 1A hired men’s basketball coaches prior to the 2011 season.

Here are their backgrounds.

Twelve of those men had never served as a head coach previously. Fred Hoiberg was among them.

Two of the coaches took the reins at their alma maters: Hoiberg and Penn’s Jerome Allen.

Four of the coaches hired that season had NBA playing experience. Hoiberg, as well as, Allen (Penn), Jeff Lebo (East Carolina), Jason Capel (Appalachian State) and Corliss Williamson (Central Arkansas).

Here are their successes.

Eleven coaches in the hiring class of ‘11 have taken programs to the NCAA Tournament. Hoiberg is one.

Five of them have won at least one NCAA Tournament game. Hoiberg is on that list. So, too, are Dana Altman (Oregon), Greg McDermott (Creighton), Brad Brownell (Clemson) and Tad Boyle (Colorado).

Three coaches have won multiple NCAA Tournament games. Hoiberg has. So, too, have Altman and McDermott have as well.

Only 1 coach has four victories in the NCAA Tournament since his hiring. You guessed it… Hoiberg.

As the 2014 NCAA Tournament moves into its second weekend, Hoiberg is the only coach among the 46 hired 4 years ago who has the chance to add to his NCAA Tournament win total in the coming weeks.

Here is the complete list of coaches hired in 2011 and their NCAA Tournament record at the school:
Fred Hoiberg, Iowa State: 4-2
Dana Altman, Oregon: 3-2
Greg McDermott, Creighton: 3-3
Brad Brownell, Clemson: 1-1
Tad Boyle, Colorado: 1-3
B.J. Hill, Northern Colorado: 0-1
Steve Lavin, St. John’s: 0-1
Fran McCaffery, Iowa: 0-1
Bob Marlin, La.-Lafayette: 0-1
Leon Rice, Boise State: 0-1
Tim Cluess, Iona: 0-2
Jerome Allen, Penn: 0-0
Gib Arnold, Hawaii: 0-0
*Tony Barbee, Auburn: 0-0
Glenn Braico, St. Francis: 0-0
Milan Brown, Holy Cross: 0-0
*Mitch Buonaguro, Siena: 0-0
*Jeff Bzdelik, Wake Forest: 0-0
*Jason Capel, Appalachian State: 0-0
Ed Conroy, Tulane: 0-0
Paul Cormier, Dartmouth: 0-0
Bill Courtney, Cornell: 0-0
*James Dickey, Houston: 0-0
*Steve Donahue, Boston College: 0-0
Billy Donlon, Wright State: 0-0
Chuck Driesell, Citadel: 0-0
Tim Floyd, UTEP: 0-0
John Gallagher, Hartford: 0-0
*Tom Herrion, Marshall: 0-0
*Chris Holtmann, Gardner Webb: 0-0
Jason Hooten, Sam Houston: 0-0
*Dan Hurley, Wagner: 0-0
Donnie Jones, UCF: 0-0
Tod Kowalczk, Toledo: 0-0
Jeff Lebo, East Carolina: 0-0
Alan Major, Charlotte: 0-0
Kevin Nickelberry, Howard: 0-0
Tom Pecora, Fordham: 0-0
*Buzz Peterson, UNC-Wilmington: 0-0
Oliver Purnell, DePaul: 0-0
Keith Richard, La.-Monroe: 0-0
Russell Turner, UC-Irvine: 0-0
Brian Wardle, Green Bay: 0-0
*Tim Welsh, Hofstra: 0-0
Kevin Willard, Seton Hall: 0-0
*Corliss Williamson, Central Arkansas: 0-0

*No longer at the school